Community Art Exhibit with the Visual Artists of Welland

Visit the museum to see the Community Art Exhibit with the Visual Artists of Welland.

The first phase of the exhibit will be open until July 18. A second phase opens the next day and runs until August 24.

Atlas: Memories Forged In Steel

Come see the history of Atlas Steels come to life as we celebrate the significance of their history in Welland and around the world! Try the virtual reality experience to get a real sense of a day inside the plant.

The exhibit focuses on the 1940s through to the 1960s as that was the peak of Atlas production and staff. The exhibit highlights the significant impact the company had on the community and the families connected to Atlas.

The exhibit will be open until the end of January 2020.

360 degree video of the exhibit, created by the Downtown Welland BIA

We Shall Not Sleep, Though Poppies Grow

Presenting an exhibit commemorating the anniversary of the First World War and featuring archival material from the lives of soldiers.

Sunnyside Dairy Cart

Visit the Sunnyside Dairy Cart and help us get the full picture!

Share your memories by contacting us at 905-732-2215 or

The cart is temporarily at the Seawall Mall and will be permanently displayed at the museum soon!

Infinite History - Métis in Niagara Exhibition

Musee de Welland Museum in partnership with the Niagara Region Métis Council are proud to present: Infinite History - Métis in Niagara Exhibition.  The exhibit celebrates the history and culture of the Métis and their significance to the Niagara area.

Canal and Industry Galleries

Come explore Welland's industrial age with the Canal and Industry Galleries. These galleries showcase and examine the importance of the building of the canals on the evolution of Welland as a city, as well as the development of the city's industrial roots. The exhibit includes many photographs and artefacts from the major factories, companies and businesses that grew Welland.

"Live, Learn, Explore" Gallery

The museum's "Live, Learn , Explore" gallery is meant just for kids. Your children can meet our reptiles and critter friends courtesy of Reptile Kingdom, play with toys, play in our ball pit, and learn about bones and fossils!



Simply Capitol

This exhibit is temporarily closed until May 13th. 

Simply Capitol

The Capitol Theatre was designed by Welland architect Norman Kearns and built for business man Samuel Lambert. Seating 1200 people, it was the largest theatre in the Niagara Peninsula. In its early days it was a vaudeville house as well as a movie theatre, showcasing silent movies and later a format to provide entertainment and news to the people of Welland during the war. Famous Players renovated the theatre in 1955 and the Capitol closed forever in 1969. The building was demolished in 1978.
This exhibit brings the Capitol back to life with an intimate reconstruction of the movie palace, complete with box office and movies!